Blake O'Hare dot com
About Blog Calendar Music Resume Projects Websites Contact

Explanation of the O'Harean Calendar

Throughout time, our modern calendar (the Gregorian calendar) has evolved from history, politics, economics, and religion. Sometimes these modifications were necessary in the immediate context they occured in, but now, all these cumulative changes have just made a confusing and complex system that we have just gotten used to dealing with when things could be much simpler.

The O'Harean Calendar is based on logic, simplicity, and loosely follows the seasons. I say loosely, because if a calendar were to strictly follow the seasons, it would be difficult to work with because a season is exactly 1/4 of Earth's revolution around the sun, and 1 revolution is not a whole number of days. This would mean that a season change would not always occur at the turn of a day or even on the same day. Therefore in the O'Harean Calendar, strictly following the seasons has been sacrificed for the sake of mathematical simplicity.

Years, Seasons, Weeks, Days

A year consists of 365 or 366 days. This is a result of how fast the earth rotates and how fast it moves around the sun. I cannot change these factors. However, the beginning of a calendar year can be arbitrarily set. Therefore for the sake of simplicity, the O'Harean Calendar begins near the Spring Equinox (in the northern hemisphere).

There are 4 seasons of 90 days each. These four 90-day seasons are followed by a "transitionary period" of 5 or 6 days at the end of the year. The length of the transitionary period follows the same rules as February 29th. The rules are as follows:

These rules are based on the speed and rotation of the Earth and obviously cannot be simplified further without making the seasons and the calendar asynchronous.

The transitionary period is not part of a season. It's a small buffer that keeps the math for the rest of the year simple.

Each season consists of fifteen 6-day weeks. 6 is divisible by 2 and 3 and fifteen is divisble by 3 and 5. 90 is cleanly divisible by all sorts of numbers.

Writing the Date

The date is written using the largest denomination first and the most specific denomination last like so...

Year Season Week:Day

Today is...

8 Ineo 11:3

Ineo is the first calendar season and corresponds to spring in the northern hemisphere and autumn in the southern hemisphere. As you can see, using the word "Spring" would cause confusion, therefore the following terms are used instead...

TermNorthern Hemisphere SeasonSouthern Hemisphere Season
"Abeo"(Transitionary Buffer)(Transitionary Buffer)

Weeks are numbered starting from 0 so the first week in a season is 0 and the last week in a season is 14

Days of the week are numbered starting from 0 so the first day of the week is 0 and the last day of the week is 5.

The transitionary period is also written as though it has one week. An example date would be

8 Abeo 0:5

Which is the last day of the year because 8 is a leap year with 366 days.

In most years, Abeo 0:4 would be the last day.


Time is more focused on base 10.

The day is divided into 20 subdivisions

Each of these divisions (close to an hour) is divided into 100 subdivisions.

Each of those are again divided into 100 subdivisions.

Again, when written, these begin at 0 to ensure that no subdivision exceeds 2 digits. There are 200000 of these mini-seconds per day and last 0.432 seconds each.

A time would be written as so...


The actual beginning of the day depends on where you are.

Timezones, Daylight Savings, and day changes

Timezones are politcally influenced and cut through large populations. Some countries even have timezones in half-hour offsets to make things more confusing.

Not all countries obey daylight savings. Not all states obey daylight savings. In the modern age, daylight savings doesn't serve as much purpose as it did when it was created. It was recently changed to help the "energy crisis" but only made things worse and more confusing, especially for computers that had to be updated and reprogrammed. To make things worse, not all countries that follow daylight savings make their change at the same time.

Instead of this confusing system, in the O'Harean Calendar, there are only 7 time zones and there is no concept of daylight savings. If you want to save daylight, set your alarm clock earlier. The timezones are as follows:

These timezones are numbered from 0 to 6. Simply take the region you want to calculate the time for, and multiply by 3 and subtract 1. That is how many day subdivisions you offset by.

Before electricity, people got up at sunrise, and went to sleep at sunset. For the average person, that is not the case. We get up well after sunrise and stay up well after sunset. Otherwise prime-time TV would have no audience. Midnight is the beginning of the day because it is literally "the middle of the night" and at the time that was established, it was assumed that surely no one would be awake at that hour. Many people are awake at midnight now and this tends to make things confusing when discussing the current day late at night. Therefore it would make more sense to make the beginning of the day closer to the actual beginning of the day.

The beginning of the day in timezone 6 occurs at the break of dawn at the intersection of the international date line and the equator at the beginning of the summer season. Everything is calibrated from this using the timezone offsets listed above.